lamarlina2011

Just another WordPress.com site

Chocolate and The Miami Marlins

What is in chocolate that I love so much? I did my research and considering that I recently finished a class in Nutrition,  I came out with different answers to my question as everything in science… But I truly believe that it is the same ingredient that works in all of us Miami Marlins fans and players when we win… when MARLINS WIN!

Eating chocolate increases the levels of endorphins released into the brain. The endorphins work to lessen pain and decrease stress. Neurotransmitters are the chemical messengers of the brain. They work by transporting electrical signals between nerve cells. These signals cause changes in the sensations and emotions that we experience. Chocolate (one of my favorite things in the whole world) contains Tryptophan which is  a chemical that the brain uses to make a neurotransmitter called serotonin. When our Marlins are focused, when no errors are done, when the defence is alert… The Miami Marlins become like chocolate.

Our Boys of Summer are in the west coast. Far from our new Ballpark. Far from the last few games and far from that awful month of April 2012.  That automatically seems to have released the stress that they had previously. I see Jose smiling again, I see Stanton hitting Home Runs like if somebody is breathing air in…so, like in and with  chocolate, some chemistry is working in each of them. At different levels of course.

Our standings as of today is pretty sad. Should I stop writing now and go for a chocolate? Hehe, no, I will wait a bit.

Of the 30 teams in the MLB we are number 27. Ouch! Of the 25 games played we have hit 830 times but only 81 runs, we reached second base on 39 times, third base 6 times and hold on, this one is discouraging: we are second in the season with batters grounding to a double play with 27 times. We are second only to the Toronto Blue Jays which are 1st with 30 double plays OUCH!~~~.

But not everything is gloom people. We are #1, YES,  #1 in stolen bases. That is admirable. I wish I could provide more #1 stats, but I can’t.  At least not yet. I am pretty sure that those days will come. As I hope also the days will come when the MLB.com will post more Miami Marlins news ( a big sweep to the Giants in their house could be one)  in the top ten headlines…wishful thinking…just saying.

Many movies, books, recipes have been created related to chocolate. All have been famous or at least popular enough to still be around. The Miami Marlins have the chemistry, the talent, the youth and professionalism to give us sensations, emotions and wins. I will go now and eat a piece of chocolate. I will watch you win later Fishes…

GO MARLINS GO FISH

LaMarlina 2011

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

